Plus Chartered Accountants Educare Laser Electrical Signature Homes

NCA Annual Awards Evening – Winners

Junior Club Cricket:

C Grade:               Pre Christmas – OC Unicorns      

                                  Post Christmas – City Rockets

B Grade:              Pre Christmas – City Comets

                                 Post Christmas – OC Lions

A Grade:              Pre Christmas – OC Hawks          

                                 Post Christmas – City Aces

Division 1:          City Firecrackers

Collegiate:           35 Over comp – City Blaze

                                 T20 Comp – City Blaze


School Tournaments:

NZ Cup – Doug Thorpe Trophy (Year 7/8 Boys)

Kamo Intermediate

NZ Shield – Intermediate Girls Trophy (Year 7/8 Girls)

Kamo Intermediate

John Bruce Trophy (Year 9/10 Girls)


Leaf Cup (Senior Secondary School Girls)


Armstrong Shield (Year 9/10 Boys Tournament)


Bruce Scott Trophy (Secondary Schools T20 Tournament)


Robertson Shield (Premier Award for Secondary School Cricket)



Junior Representative Cricket:


Junior Secondary Boys:

  • Batsman Ryan Krige
  • BowlerRiley Syers
  • Player of the YearRyan Krige

Junior Secondary Girls:

  • Batter of the YearJess Canty
  • Bowler of the year – Sophie Jellyman
  • Player of the Year – Jess Canty

Senior Secondary Boys:

  • BatsmanNathan Condon
  • BowlerLucas James
  • Player of the YearNathan Condon

Senior Secondary Girls:

  • BatterMakayla Templeton
  • Bowler – Ella Beehre
  • Player of the Year – Makayla Templeton


Awards for outstanding contribution to Northland Junior cricket

Roger Turner

Dean Potter

NEW AWARD:  Cobham Club Award

Awarded to a secondary school player/coach/official/administrator who has made a significant contribution to youth Cricket in Northland over the season.

Makayla TempletonDedication to helping with the super smash program on Friday evenings as well as helping with various girls teams.

New Award: Roger Turner Award

For greatest playing contribution to a Northland junior team

Makayla Templeton100no off 56 balls vs Bay of Plenty SSS


Senior Prizes

Reserve Grade

Plus Trophy – Reserve Grade T20 -Presented by Brent Martin

Kerikeri CC

Team Tait Real Estate Trophy – Reserve Grade One Day

Maungakakaramea CC

Reserve Grade 50/40 Competition

Kerikeri CC

Greg Guy Shield – Reserve Grade Challenge Shield

Kerikeri CC

Most Valuable Reserve Grade Players

Batsman: Aaron Wendt-Smith (607runs @ 33.7) MGK

Bowler: Vaisakh Bijukumar (37 wickets at 12.1) Bream Bay

Player: Ravi Somal ( 486 runs @26 and 26 wickets @18 ) Bream Bay


Premier Club Cricket

Karl Treiber Shield (Northland Premier Cricket Challenge Shield)


Mark Cromie Holden Trophy – Premier T20


Lion Red Cup – Premier One Day


Declaration Competition


Dargaville Shield (Best Overall Premier Team – T20/OD/DC combined)



Most Valuable Premier Grade Players

Batsman: Curtis Cherrington ( 606 runs at 50.5 including 3 centuries and a hs of 119no ) Kamo

Bowler: Sam Walker ( 36 wickets at 13.5 including 2 5wick bags and a BB of 8-41 ) OCCC

Keeper (Lance Mountain Trophy): The evergreen Bert Horner (with 24 dismissals 17 catches and 7 stumpings) Northern CC

Player (Bob Cunis Trophy): Kyran Dill KFCC  ( 451 runs @37.6  and 32 wickets @ 11.7)


Most Outstanding Maori Player

 Thorn Parkes – Represented Northland and Northern Districts A

Umpires Award

Graham Cowen Trophy for Greatest Contribution to Umpiring

Tank (Tony Edwards )

Premier Club Team of the Season

The team is made up of 12 players selected from the 6 premier sides that play in the T20, One and Two-Day Competitions in Northland.

Selection Criteria:

  • The team is selected as a normal team is selected, therefore there are:
  • A top and middle order
  • A wicket keeper or Wicket keeper/batsman
  • All-rounders
  • At least one spinner
  • Fast bowlers
  • purely based on club cricket

The team is as follows:

  1. Matthew Henderson ( WK ) – KFCC
  2. Curtis Cherrington – Kamo
  3. Ben Hyde – Kamo
  4. Ian Page – MGK
  5. Sam Sweeney – KFCC
  6. Fletcher Coutts – OCCC
  7. Kyran Dill – KFCC
  8. Daniel grimes – MGK
  9. Sam Walker – OCCC
  10. Josh Cunis – KFCC
  11. Lucas James – Northern CC
  12. Liam Jones – KFCC

 Well done to each player named in this side – you have all had excellent seasons.


Women’s Player of the Year

Olivia Lobb (ND Spirit – One Day and T20) 10th Year in a row.


Northland Men – Second XI

Batsman: Fletcher Coutts (125 runs @ 62.5)

Bowler: Lucas James (4 wickets at 3.2 an over)

Player: Fletcher Coutts (125 runs @ 62.5 )


Northland Men – First XI

Norm Wilson Trophy (Biggest Contribution to Northland 1st and/or 2nd XI)

Lowell Gundry – tireless efforts around the team day and night

Captains Trophy: (presented to the Northland Men’s Captain)

Ben Hyde

 Bob Henman Trophy (Most Meritorious Performance)

Neal Parlane  (113 off 60 balls v Hamilton in the Brian Dunning Trophy)

Bowler of the Year

Josh Cunis (12 wickets @10.5 including a best of 6-24)

Batsman of the Year

Ben Hyde( 259 runs @ 32.4)

Northland Men’s 1st XI Player of the Year (Brian Dunning Medal)

Ben Hyde (captain of the winning BD side and 2nd in the Fergus Hickey , 259 runs @ 32  and 13 wickets @ 26)

 Northland Cricket Association Player of the Year:

Tim Southee

Northland Cricket would like to thank its sponsors and supporters
Refining NZ Cricket Express Mainfreight Hill Construction Team Tait Hirepool Oxford Sports Trust Whangarei District Council Chilltech The Northern Advocate Grassroots Trust Dudley & Dennis Signs Recreational Services Rothbury